Contact us

(520) 327 6534

Send us an email!

Contact details:


Your message has been sent successfully. Close this notice.

Business Insurance Quote

Contact details:

Your car:

Your Quote Form has been sent successfully. Close this notice.
4 years ago · by · 0 comments

Another Usage-Based Insurance Option Hits the Shelves

Surely by now you’ve heard of the usage-based insurance programs that are hitting the market lately.

If not, we’ll have to have a long hard talk with our pal, Flo.

Usage-based insurance programs, or Pay-As-You-Drive programs, reward good driving habits with a permanent discount on the participating vehicle, usually up to 30% of that vehicle’s premium for as long as that vehicle stays on the policy.

The technology that allows this is a small device inserted into your car’s OBD-II port (the port mechanics use when you take your car in for work) for several months, which records your engine activity taking notice of events like hard stops, rapid acceleration, total number of miles driven and the time of day driven.  Vehicles driven a lot between midnight and 4am, as well as vehicles in a lot of stop-and-go traffic may not land the best available discount.

The newest company to jump on the usage-based insurance bandwagon is Safeco, with their RightTrack program.  Check out their FAQ for more information.

Read more

5 years ago · by · 0 comments

What is “Full Coverage?”

In a world of name-your-price and click-to-buy insurance policies, it’s tempting to take a hands-off approach to your car insurance.  And while we try to make it as simple as possible for you, it is also important that you’re informed about what it is you’re buying.

One term that requires some clarification is “full coverage,” because within the insurance world it doesn’t actually have a specific meaning.  In Arizona, like most states, the only coverage you’re required to carry is liability insurance, which would cover any damage you inflict on somebody else or their property while driving.

The Arizona liability insurance requirement is law, and it applies to any vehicle registered in the State of Arizona.

If you’re financing your car, the company holding the loan will probably require that you purchase Physical Damage coverage for the car, in the form of Comprehensive and Collision.

Collision would cover damage to your car from colliding with another car or object, while Comprehensive, sometimes called “Other Than Collision” coverage for obvious reasons, would cover everything else– things like theft, colliding with an animal, fire and vandalism.  Usually when we hear people say they need full coverage, this is what they mean.

However in addition to those very basic auto insurance coverages, there are lots of optional perks that you can add to your policy– things like Rental Car Reimbursement, Towing and Labor Coverage (sometimes called Roadside Assistance), full glass (which waives your Comprehensive deductible in the event of a glass claim), Medical Payments and Un/Under-Insured Motorists Coverage.

In addition to the multiple types of coverage available, they all have varying coverage limits to choose from.  Take some time before you get an insurance quote to research what each of these coverages mean, and to decide what limits you’re comfortable carrying.  And as always, you’re welcome to give your local independent agent a call if you’re a bit confused.

Thanks for reading, peace out.

Read more

6 years ago · by · 0 comments

Arizona Insurance Requirements May Increase

You may have heard the news: a Tucson lawmaker is pushing to get the minimum requirements for auto liability insurance in Arizona increased.

Right now, about one in five Arizona drivers carry only minimum limits, which are $10,000 for property damage you inflict and $15,000 per person or $30,000 per accident for injuries.  (These limits are commonly referred to as 15/30/10.)  The proposed law would bump the requirement to the next higher limit, 25/50/20.

If this happens, people carrying minimum limits could see an increase of around $50-100 per year.  If you’re one of those people, your policy will most likely automatically adjust itself to comply with the new law– you won’t have to do anything.

Those carrying State Minimum Limits could see an increase of around $50-100 a year.

Keep an eye on your premiums, and if you’re seeing a much more significant increase, there may be another cause.  Give us a call to see to find out why, or to check whether another carrier may be a better fit.   Insurance quotes with McGhee Insurance are always free!

Read more

6 years ago · by · 0 comments · Featured

Tucson Insurance Agents

We’ve been serving Tucson and the rest of Arizona, while remaining family-owned and operated since 1947!* Our goal is to provide outstanding, personalized service, and to make you feel like a part of our family!

We are a full-line, independent Property and Casualty insurance agency which means we write all types of Personal and Commercial insurance except health.  Our independent status gives you access to dozens of competitive agency-only and direct-to-customer carriers for coverage on your car, home, boat, business and even life, with service you can rely on.


Feel free to call today for a free consultation with one of our agents, or visit our quoting portal for an instant home or auto quote.  Current customers can print policy documents, request policy changes and share confidential documents easily and securely online 24/7 by visiting our Client Center.  We appreciate the opportunity to compete for your business!  Welcome to the family!

*We are licensed for business in AZ only.

Read more

6 years ago · by · 0 comments

Tucson Drivers Beware!

We hear a lot of questions about the Radar Traffic Enforcement systems popping up all over Tucson, so we scoured the internet and even spoke with a TPD Officer, and we’ve got answers for you.

The Tucson Photo Traffic systems can cite drivers for speeding 10 miles over the posted speed limit, or 5 in a school zone (3 points against your license and a fine ranging from $151-$366 depending on how fast and where you were driving), and for passing the “lateral prolongation of the curb line” (yes, the infamous “WAIT” line) of an intersection during a red light (2 points and a $280 fine). Extra fines may be added if those drivers are also found not to be wearing a seat belt ($48) or have current vehicle registration at the time ($600 or $123 if you get it registered before the court date). Not coming to a complete stop, stopping within the crosswalk itself or not yielding to pedestrians prior to turning right may also yield a citation.

You may choose to respond to the initial notification by appearing in court, paying the fine, requesting a hearing or enrolling in NTSI Defensive Driving School, but at that point you still have the right to be personally served. You’ll see in very small letters that by signing this ticket you’re “waiving your right to be served.” This is because the US Postal Service is no longer a governmental agency and putting something in the mail is not legally acceptable proof it’s been delivered. If the first court date passes, a process server will be notified and if he serves you, you will have to pay the service fee- usually around $30. Once you’ve been served, you are required to respond by the new court date or will be subject to a potentially severe default judgment that could include fines and even the suspension of your license.

In Arizona you’re eligible to dismiss a ticket with traffic school only once in two years–with court fees it ends up costing almost as much as the ticket would have, but is potentially a better option since the points on your record could (but not always) spur significant insurance rate increases lasting between 3-5 years.

If you’re worried about what the points on your record will do to your rates, and your vehicle is a 1996 or newer, give us a call– you may qualify for one of the incident forgiveness or discount insurance programs available through our agency.

Read more